Sherlock Scandal

As one who is uneducated in celebrity gossip and not an avid reader of any particular newspaper, I found I got sucked into an article recently written by The Telegraph. After a swift glance over how Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freemans’ “frosty relationship” was putting the potential of a Season 5 to Sherlock at risk, a quote by Freeman’s now ex-wife, Amanda Abbington, resonated with me. After discussing how playing a freshly-crumbling couple with a new born in the series shared definite similarities to their previous home lives together, she explained how distance between them due to Freeman’s booming career became a major factor in their marriages’ demise. Abbington clarifies that…

“you can’t be away from people for too long, because you start to function on your own, and you get used to being separate [from] the person you’re supposed to be with. You lose connection and lose sight of it, in the end.”

Despite my lack of knowledge regarding what marriage with Freeman is personally like, the situation struck a chord with a recent event that happened to me early November last year. After a mutual decision to end a 4-year long relationship, it was quite clear that my then-boyfriend and I had become quite different people, while the long distance paid no benefits to the situation. We had begun to function separately while living on opposite ends of the country, and with both of our futures mapping out differently, we slowly ‘lost sight of our connection’.

With projects ending and starting during the epicentre of such chaos in my head, my approach to life altered rapidly – even more so since starting Third Year! With a change of heart, came a change to my Independent Project; a scrapping to my previous months of research if you will, in an attempt to liberate myself from the shackles that were everyone’s expectations.

So, came the new and improved Dissertation:

What is more important – ‘You’ or ‘Your’? A Digital Exploration into being Selfish and Selfless

Not only is the process going to be a journey for myself, to breach the line between digital visualisation and full-body, mind-numbing emotions, but also a way to help break the stigma so often coupled with mental health, by trying to be a voice for the expression of other’s emotions. I want the confusion, that captivates the mind in intense reactions, to be empathised, but misunderstood in my work; much like a generalised response to the stigma already. I can only hope I live up to my already high expectations of my final year project.

Leave a Reply

